Fenda Akiwumi

Associate Professor
Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award

Fenda A. Akiwumi is an associate professor in the Geography, Environmental Science and Policy program, School of Geosciences at the University of South Florida, USA. She holds a B.Sc. (Hons) in geology from the University of Manchester, UK, an M.Sc. in hydrogeology from University College London, UK, and a Ph.D. in environmental geography from Texas State University-San Marcos, USA. Her research takes a holistic approach to resource management and includes cultural diversity and resource perception; resource conflicts and the need for socio-culturally sensitive and sustainable resource policy and legislative formulation and reform, environmental management, sustainable development, and ethnic geography pedagogy. Her primary research area of expertise is water and mining development in Sierra Leone. Dr. Akiwumi has co-edited a peer-reviewed book, and published book chapters, and papers in top-tier academic journals including Antipode, Journal of Cleaner Production, Environmental Monitoring and Assessment, Singapore Journal of Tropical Geography, The Extractive Industries and Society, Greener Management International, IEEE Power and Energy Magazine, Cities, Habitat International, and Politics, Groups and Identities. She served as inaugural chair of the UNESCO International Hydrological Programme (IHP) Expert Advisory Group on Water and Cultural Diversity (2008-2010) convened to develop culturally sensitive methodological guidelines and policy recommendations on mainstreaming cultural diversity into Integrated Water Resources Management (IWRM). Dr Akiwumi is recipient of several awards including the Distinguished Alumna Achievement Award from the College of Liberal Arts, Texas State University, 2016; Distinguished Department of Geography Alumni Award, Texas State University, 2016;   USF Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award, 2016-2017; and National Council for Geographic Education (NCGE) Higher Education Distinguished Teaching Award, 2017.

Award Type: Others
Awarded: 2016