Judy Genshaft

ACE Donna Shavlik Award

Dr. Judy Genshaft was named president of the University of South Florida System in 2000, and has led USF to become one of the fastest growing research universities in the nation with a rapidly expanding international reputation for academics, research and innovation. With its strong commitment to applied research, USF has been instrumental in the economic development of the Tampa Bay region as well as playing an influential leadership role among American universities.   Under President Genshaft’s leadership, USF has been recognized as a top 25 public research university as ranked by the National Science Foundation and grown to become the 9th largest public research university in the nation, with an annual budget of $1.8 billion and an annual economic impact of more than $4.4 billion for the Tampa Bay region. USF is ranked 21st in the world for universities receiving patents and 9th for U.S. patents among U.S. institutions as reported by NAI/IPO.  She has also led a billion dollar fundraising campaign raising more than $950 million and overseen more than $1.3 billion in construction growth including $75 million in athletic facilities.  With campuses in Tampa, St. Petersburg and Sarasota-Manatee, the USF System serves more than 49,500 students in more than 235 degree programs on the undergraduate, masters, specialist and doctoral levels, including the doctor of medicine and pharmacy and an Emerging Preeminent State Research University by Florida’s state leaders.   President Genshaft has been instrumental in economic development efforts in the Tampa Bay region, serving as chair of three critical economic development engines: The Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce, Tampa Bay Partnership and the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce Committee of 100. The university has been a catalyst for economic development through USF’s collaboration with local and state governments as well as regional business leaders. President Genshaft has focused on partnering university research, which has grown from $186 million to more than $458 million in 2015-16.   She has held numerous leadership positions in the Tampa Bay Partnership’s Executive Committee & Council of Governors, High Tech Corridor Council, and the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer & Research Institute’s Board of Directors. Statewide, President Genshaft is active in the Florida Council of 100’s Board of Directors and Business/Higher Education Partnership Committee.    Nationally, President Genshaft has served as Chair for the American Council on Education (ACE) and is a member of the Association of Public and Land-Grant Universities (APLU) Board of Directors. In 2010, President Genshaft made National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) history when she became the first woman to chair the Division I Board. She is also past chair of the Big East and American Athletic Conference Councils of Presidents. President Genshaft has been lauded by both professional organizations and community groups throughout her career. She is one of the region’s most well-regarded women leaders. She has been inducted into the 2008 Tampa Bay Business Hall of Fame, recognized by the Tampa Bay Business Journal as the 2007 Business Woman of the Year, and recognized by the Greater Tampa Chamber of Commerce Presents Dottie Berger MacKinnon Woman of Influence Award. She has received the Tampa World Trade Center’s Betty Castor Lifetime Achievement Award, Florida Economic Council’s Richard L. McLaughlin Award, was the recipient of the Amiga Award for Non-Hispanic women whose outstanding efforts have improved the quality of life in the Hispanic community and the inaugural Community Sports Leader of the Year Award, Tampa Bay Sneaker Soiree from the Tampa Bay Sports Commission.   Nationally and globally recognized, President Genshaft has been honored by APLU with the Michael P. Malone International Leadership Award, the Global Leadership Award by Her Royal Highness Princess Sirindhorn in Bangkok, Thailand, The Captain of Education Award from Hadassah College in Jerusalem, Israel, an honorary doctorate from Saint Ignatius of Loyola University, Peru, and as the first woman to receive an honorary doctorate in Literature from Yeungnam University, South Korea.  In October 2016, President Genshaft was honored by the National Association of Collegiate Women Athletics Administrators with the Dr. Claire Van Ummersen Presidential Leadership Award.   President Genshaft is a native of Ohio and earned her baccalaureate degree at the University of Wisconsin-Madison and both her Masters and Doctoral degrees from Kent State University. The author or co-author of more than 75 journal articles, President Genshaft has edited and authored three books on gifted education and intellectual assessment and also contributed chapters, essays and articles to more than 20 books, journals and publications on current topics in higher education leadership.    

Award Type: Others
Awarded: 2017